I.A.A.R.S. Board Members


Dan Lofgren

Mr. Lofgren is currently President of Lofgren Associates, Inc., an accident reconstruction consulting firm outside the Minneapolis, Minnesota metropolitan area.  He has been a charter member of the IAARS from 1981 and was elected to the Board in 1998.

More biography information on Daniel Lofgren

E-mail Mr. Lofgren

Fred Rice
Vice President
Fred Rice is currently a member of the Idaho State Police and is a 21-year veteran of law enforcement. He was assigned to the Idaho State Police Training Section in 1985 as a Crash Reconstruction Instructor.  One of his duties is to coordinate the state's reconstruction program.  He was elected to the board on July of 1996 and is serving his second term.  Fred also instructs other areas of law enforcement training as well as coordinating various training for the department.

More biography information on Fred Rice

E-mail Mr. Rice

Photo-Murphy2.JPG (8915 bytes)

Peter Murphy
Board of Directors

Mr. Murphy has been a member of IAARS since 1989 and is the owner of Interstate Accident Reconstruction Consultants. Mr. Murphy retired from the Massachusetts State Police in December 2008 after 34 years of service. He has instructed in all levels of traffic accident investigation to police officers in Massachusetts. He has also lectured at the University of North Florida's Institute of Police Technology (IPTM) Special Problems Seminars, International Association of Accident Reconstruction Specialists and for private corporations. He also has published works in the areas of highway safety and crash reconstruction.

Mr. Murphy is certified by the Accreditation Commission for Traffic Accident Reconstruction (ACTAR # 259).

E-mail Mr. Murphy

Stephen Benanti
Board of Directors

Mr. Benanti has been a member of IAARS since 1986; he is ACTAR accredited and is also the IAARS representative to ACTAR.

He is a 25 year veteran of the Massachusetts State Police and retired with the rank of Lieutenant in September of 2004. Mr. Benanti began reconstructing accident for the MSP in May of 1984 and was later the Commanding Officer of the MSP Collision Analysis and Reconstruction Section. Mr. Benanti has also been reconstructing accidents in the private sector since 1986.

More biography information on Steve Benanti

E-mail Stephen Benanti 

Eino "Butch" Thompson
Board of Directors

Mr. Thompson was a Massachusetts State Police Officer for 34 years and a reconstructionist since 1986. He was assigned to the State Police Collision Analysis and Reconstruction Section - Western Team since 1992 and supervised the Western Team since 1998. He has been the lead investigator in over 800 reconstructions as well as assisted other members in their investigations. Mr. Thompson is presently retired as of December 13th and is doing private practice.


Dave Herzuck
Board of Directors

David Herzuck is a 1982 Bachelor of Science graduate of the Winona State University Paralegal Program. He has 22 years of practical experience in preparing civil actions for the courtroom from both the plaintiff and defense perspective and has lectured at seminars for Winona State University, MADD and the Minnesota Trial Lawyer's Association. 

Dave also has been an active member of IAARS since 1990 and was elected to the Board in 2004.

E-mail Mr. Herzuck


Ed Robertson
Board of Directors


Ed Robertson is currently a member of the Idaho State Police and is a 20-year veteran of law enforcement. He was instrumental in developing the Idaho State Police Collision Reconstruction Unit in 2004 and participated as an original member of that unit. One of his duties is to coordinate the state's reconstruction program. He was elected a second time to the board in September of 2009 after a two year sabbatical from the board. Ed also has a independent consulting/reconstruction practice.

E-Mail Mr. Robertson